House of Mercy – 03/09/2013

House of Mercy radio play list
week starting Saturday 9th March 2013
presented by Barry Marshall-Everitt
to listen for preview/review/archive & station download go to
facebook :

This week we are full of Juno Award ( Canadian Grammy’s ) nominee’s and our first session is certainly a stand out artist for roots record of the year…Annabelle Chvostek’s record ‘ Rise ‘ has all the hallmarks of a winner… Annabelle and her two piece ensemble are currently on a UK tour and after listening to this session you will certainly want to see her play.
Our second session comes from just round the corner from our studio’s here in London’s N8…Jack Day’s debut album…’ The First Ten ‘ has shaken up the safe singer songwriters of the UK…listen to his session to find out why.
Record of the week comes from the tiny rural town of Horsefly…British Columbia…far away in Canada. Another roots Juno nominee… Pharis & Jason Romero’s second duo release ‘ Long Gone Out West Blues ‘ has raised the roots barn door ever higher… a superb collection of self penned and tradition songs worked up in the warmest old timey style we have heard for some time…perfect harmonies and darn good picking.

Books of the week
‘ Been Down So Long It looks Like Up To Me ‘ written by Richard Farina – chosen by Barry
‘ Lonesome Dove’ written by Larry McMurtry chosen by Jack Day
‘Almanac of the Dead ‘ written by Leslie Marmon Silko chosen by Annabelle Chvostek
hour one

Intro – In The Red – Tammy Rogers
Long Gone Out West Blues – Pharis & Jason Romero – ( Long Gone Out West Blues )
A Swallow Song – Richard & Mimi Farina – ( Reflections Of A Crystal Wind )
Come On Home – Pharis & Jason Romero – ( Long Gone Out West Blues )
Dopico – Richard & Mimi Farina – ( Reflections Of A Crystal Wind )

Storm Warning – Annie Keating – ( For Keeps )
More Than I Can Take – King King – ( Standing In The Shadows )
I Am The Train – Ian Siegal & The Mississippi Mudbloods – ( Candy Store Kid )

Wild Bill Jones – Pharis & Jason Romero – ( Long Gone Out West Blues )
Barney – Furnace Mountain – ( The Road To Berryville )
He Ain’t No Good – The Locust Honey String Band – ( He Ain’t No Good )

Back To Eden – Jarrod Dickenson – ( The Lonesome Traveler )
Kings – The Self Help Group – ( Not Waving But Drowning )
Amen Said The Deacon – Brigitte DeMeyer – ( Rose Of Jericho )

Five Star Location – Rita Hosking – ( Little Boat )

Till Something Better Comes Along – The Rockingbirds – ( The Return Of The Rockingbirds )

hour two

In session Annabelle Chvostek Ensemble
Sad Old Song – Pharis & Jason Romero – ( Long Gone Out West Blues )

Let It Rain – The Blue Warblers – ( Pretty Good )

Hard Times – Al Scorch & The Country Soul Ensemble – ( Tired Ghostly Town )

hour three

In session Jack Day
Truck Drivers Blues – Pharis & Jason Romero – ( Long Gone Out West Blues )

Gasoline – Gurf Morlix – ( Finds The Present Tense )
Midnight Trains – Red Moon Joe – ( Midnight Trains )
Straight & Narrow – Richard Thompson – ( Electric )

Guilty – Bex Marshall – ( House Of Mercy )

Smokey Old Bar – Dale Watson & His Lonestars – ( El Rancho Azul )

Next week in session from LA Roses Pawn Shop and from Italy harmonica wiz Fabrio Poggi ( currently on tour with Guy Davies )

all the best Barry

Barry Marshall-Everitt
House of Mercy Ltd.
PO Box 49684
London N8 7YH
media partners with
R2, Blues Matters & Maverick magazines
reporting to Euro-Americana radio chart

Comments are closed.