Death Valley Radio Program 893

Death Valley Radio is a format-free program for the musically curious.

In this age of bland radio programming (both commercial and non-) and automated music services, DVR is still built by hand, non-algorithmically — one set at a time.

Death Valley Radio can be heard here at taintradio on Saturdays at 10:00 PM ET and Wednesdays at 10:00 AM ET.

DVR program 893 features Southern gospel, blues, soul and crickets (North Mississippi Allstars, Rev. I.D. Back, the Soul Seekers, Delaney & Bonnie and Friends, Ann Peebles, Roberta Flack, Ruthie Foster); no-nonsense rock ‘n’ roll (Chuck Berry, Dave Alvin, Marty Stuart); more crickets (Ryuichi Sakamoto, Bryce Dessner and Martín Hernández); Brian Eno’s new cover of Lou Reed’s “I’m Set Free”; saxophonist Colin Stetson’s new interpretation of “Symphony of Sorrowful Songs,” written by Polish composer Henryk Górecki in 1976; and new music from Marissa Nadler, Jonah Smith, Omara “Bombino” Moctar, Jon Irabagon, Vijay Iyer and Wadada Leo Smith.

Each week’s playlist will be archived until the end of time at

Comments are closed.