Vinyl Side of Midnight week of 2/25/13


Janiva Magness – I Won’t Cry; STRONGER FOR IT (Alligator Records)
Esperanza Spalding – Radio Song; RADIO MUSIC SOCIETY (Head’s Up)

Donny McCaslin – Henry; CASTING FOR GRAVITY (Green Leaf)
Rez Abbasi Trio – Rivalry; CONTINUOUS BEAT (Enja)

Chick Corea, Eddie Gomez & Paul Motian – Gloria’s Step; FURTHER EXPLORATIONS (Concord)
Chick Corea & Gary Burton – Hot House; HOT HOUSE (Concord)

The Bad Plus – In Stitches; MADE POSSIBLE (E One)
Vijay Iyer Trio – Wildflower; ACCELERANDO (ACT)

Vinyl Side of Midnight

Tonight the Vinyl Side of Midnight begins it’s syndication on Taint Radio (! Heard at midnight on Thursday night (into Friday morning), Monday night at 8 p.m. and Tuesday at 11 a.m., each show will feature some of the finest jazz ever recorded, mixing together new music and classic recordings as well as an emphasis on Michigan talent.

This week’s set list is:

Clifton Anderson – And So We Carry On; AND SO WE CARRY ON (Daywood Drive Records)
Bruce Barth – Three Things of Beauty; THREE THINGS OF BEAUTY (Savant Records)

The Bad Plus – Re-Elect That; MADE POSSIBLE (E One Records)
Michael Occhipinti – Instant Karma! THE UNIVERSE OF JOHN LENNON (True North Records)
Chick Corea & Gary Burton – Eleanor Rigby; HOT HOUSE (Concord)

George Cables – The Way We Were; MY MUSE (High Note Records)
Denise Donatelli – Too Late Now; SOUL SHADOWS (Savant Records)
Brad Mehldau Trio – Holland; WHERE DO YOU START (Nonesuch)

Pat Metheny – The Sound of Silence; WHAT’S IT ALL ABOUT (Nonesuch)
Kurt Elling – American Tune; 1619 BROADWAY (Concord)