Martian Gardens – 03/19/2014

Wednesdays 6:00 p.m. — 9:00 p.m. EDT & Saturdays 3-6 a.m.
Archived editions of Martian Gardens Thursdays 2-5 a.m. & Sundays 3-6 a.m.
Host: Max Shea

online playlists: Martian Gardens blog

hour one

In fond memory of Robert Ashley (March 28, 1930 — March 3, 2014)
Martian Gardens will feature works by the late Robert Ashley on the current and next two programs.

Robert Ashley: Sonata
Music from the ONCE Festival 1961-1966 [various artists]
New World Records/2003
piano: Robert Ashley; recorded at the ONCE Festival, Ann Arbor, Michigan, February 25, 1961; composition years: 1959-1960; time: 7:44

Jacqueline Humbert: Empty Words (R. Ashley)
Lovely Music, Ltd./2004
composer: Robert Ashley; voice: Jacqueline Humbert; electronics, processing, edition: David Rosenboom, Sam Ashley; recorded at the Dizzy Gillespie Recording Studio, CalArts, Los Angeles and David Rosenboom’s studio, CalArts; composition year: 1962; time: 3:08

Robert Ashley and Paul De Marinis:
In Sara, Mencken, Christ and Beethoven There Were Men and Women (excerpt)
In Sara, Mencken, Christ and Beethoven There Were Men and Women
Lovely Music, Ltd./2004 (orig. Cramps Records LP/1974)
poem: John Barton Wolgamot (1944); recitation: Robert Ashley; Moog synthesizer: Paul De Marinis; recorded at the Center for Contemporary Music, Mills College, 1973; composition year: 1972; excerpt time: 5:30

Robert Ashley: Automatic Writing (excerpt)
Automatic Writing
Lovely Music, Ltd./1996
synthesizer, electronics: Robert Ashley; voices: Robert Ashley, Mimi Johnson; composition years: 1974-1979; excerpt time: 5:00

Robert Ashley: O Mesopotamia
Concrete — An Opera
Lovely Music, Ltd./2008
orchestra samples design, live mixing, processing: Robert Ashley, Tom Hamilton; voices: Sam Ashley, Thomas Buckner, Jacqueline Humbert, Joan La Barbara; composition year: 2006; time: 4:15

Tim Hodgkinson: Ulaaraar
Mode Records/2014
(for bass clarinet and strings); violas: Ioan-Marius Lacraru, Cornelia Petroiu; cellos: Theodor Iancu, Andrei Klvu; basses: Ion and Ciprian Ghita; small gong: anonymous; bass clarinet, conducting: Tim Hodgkinson: recorded at the Music Nova Festival, Sinaia, Romania; October 9, 2005; composition year: 2005; time: 9:33

Ben Johnston: The Long String (from Parable)
Ruminations – Music in Just Intonation
MicroFest Records/2014
voice: Karen Clark; clarinet: Jim Sullivan; violin: Sarah Thornblade; text: Rumi; composition year: 2000; time: 11:31

hour two

Taylor Ho Bynum 7-Tette: Zade-Wuk
Navigation (Possibility Abstracts XII & XIII)
Firehouse 12/2013
cornet: Taylor Ho Bynum; alto saxophone: Jim Hobbs; bass trombone, tuba: Bill Lowe; electric guitar: Mary Halvorson; acoustic bass: Ken Filiano; drums, vibraphone: Thomas Fumiwara; drums, vibraphone: Chad Taylor; recorded at Firehouse 12, New Haven, Connecticut; 2013; time: 14:08

Alexander Berne & The Abandoned Orchestra: Amphibiana
Self Referentials 1 & 2
Innova Recordings/2012
all instruments: Alexander Berne; recorded at Mirabella Studios, Florida; time: 5:55

For St. Patrick’s Day

John Cage: Roaratorio Part Two
From Roaratorio — An Irish Circus on Finnegans Wake
Roaratorio; Laughtears
Mode Records/2002 (orig. 1992)
singer: Joe Heaney; Uillean pipes: Seamus Ennis; fiddle: Paddy Glackin;
flute: Matt Molloy; bodhran: Peadher Mercier, Mell Mercier; voice, 62-track tape: J. Cage; texts: James Joyce; premiered at West German Radio, Cologne, October 22, 1979; composition year: 1979; time: 16:14

Joseph Kubera: Fences, In Three Tragedies (S.S. Smith)
I. Personal Tragedy (2:48)
II. Community Tragedy (1:53)
III. Country Tragedy (2:52)
Book of Horizons
New World Records/2014
(for piano) composer: Stuart Saunders Smith; piano: Joseph Kubera; recorded at the American Academy of Arts and Letters, New York City, June 2-3, 2013; composition year: 1998; total time: 7:30

Drew Krause: Airline
Innova Recordings/2007
(for computer and alto sax); alto saxophone: Taimur Sullivan; recorded at Abeshouse Studios, Pelham, New York, February 2005, composition year: 1995; time: 6:32

hour three
TAINT Radio and WMUA automated versions only

James Mobberley: Study for Vox Inhumana
Music from SEAMUS, Volume 11 (various artists)
(for electroacoustic music); composition year: 2000; time: 4:16

Eric Moe: Teeth of the Sea
Strange Exclaiming Music
(for two conga drums); percussion: Michael Lipsey; recorded at the American Academy of Arts and Letters, New York City, April 22, 2007; composition year: 2003; time: 3:35

Francis Dhomont: Scherzo (giocoso)
Frankenstein Symphony
(for tape collage and electroacoustic music); premiered in Berlin, Germany, June 13, 1997; composition year: 1997; time: 14:30

Andrew Lewis: Scherzo
empreintes DIGITALes/2013
(for electroacoustic music); realized in 1992 and revised in 1993 at the Electroacoustic Music Studio of The University of Birmingham, UK; premiered at the Concert Room, School of Music, University of East Anglia, Norwich, June 29, 1992; time: 8:18

Paul Lansky: Partita
I. Preamblum (3:47)
II. Allemande (4:52)
III. Pavane (4:39)
IV. Gigue (4:55)
Notes to Self
Bridge Records/2013
guitar: David Starobin; percussion: Mari Yoshinaga; recorded at Gould Rehearsal Hall, Curtis Institute of Music, Philadelphia, July 2012; time: 18:23

David Starobin: Sufi Dance (J. Harvey)
Bridge Records/1998
composer: Jonathan Harvey; guitar: David Starobin; recorded at Master Sound, Astoria, New York, 1997-1998; composition year: 1997; time: 1:50

— FIN —

Comments are closed.