Death Valley Radio Program 875

Death Valley Radio is a format-free program for the musically curious.

In this age of bland radio programming (both commercial and non-) and automated music services, DVR is still built by hand, non-algorithmically — one set at a time.

Death Valley Radio can be heard here at taintradio on Saturdays at 10:00 PM ET and Wednesdays at 10:00 AM ET.

DVR program 875 features surf rock (Bill Frisell’s Big Sur Quintet, R.E.M., Marty Stuart and His Fabulous Superlatives); social, political and spiritual commentary (Cody ChesnuTT, Lizz Wright, Bobby McFerrin, Ruthie Foster, Meshell Ndegeocello, Toshi Reagon); and an other-worldly rendition of Screamin’ Jay Hawkins’s “I Put a Spell on You” by singer Alice Smith and guitarist Chris Sholar.

Also: new music from Ches Smith with Craig Taborn and Mat Maneri, Orrin Evans, Joe Fiedler, Wayne Horvitz, Kenneth Salters, Rudresh Mahanthappa, and Aruán Ortiz with Eric Revis and Gerald Cleaver.

Each week’s playlist will be archived until the end of time at

Comments are closed.